Guest Room Update

Some of you that follow me on instagram may have seen this little sneak peek.

Round MirrorsYep, two delicious round mirrors. (reflecting another sneak peek, you little spies you)

You may have wondered what I was ever going to do with those two mirrors. Well I will tell you about one of them.

Today is the story of the Large Gold Round Mirror.

I have been redecorating the guest room. Now that it is no longer Vanessa’s Room *sniff* it was time to revert to guest status.  First let us open the vault and see where we were starting from. You may remember this photo from our very first house tour.

humble beginnings | The SmithocracyYikes! Plain Jane Galore. This is what I call Hodge Podge Whatever Is Left Styling. Well once Vanessa moved in, it turned into Teenager/Young Adult Chaos Styling. After she left it was time to give it an actual style. If you haven’t gathered by now I lean towards Mid-Century Modern. Emphasis more on Mid-Century then Modern. So it was time to make this room match the rest of the house.

First thing was a bedding switch.

IMG_0011The sheets are grey not purple. I can’t seem to make them do anything but purple in Digital Land. Anyway, excuse the graininess of the photo, it was taken late at night as a last minute thought.

The bedding was fine, but the whole rest of the room needed some more furniture. So I pulled some extra pieces from around the house, but it still needed something. So My Brain told me that a gold round mirror would be perfect. I thought My Brain had a pretty good idea. So I hopped on Craig’s List and Lo and Behold, someone was selling a large round gold mirror right down the street from me!

Fate had spoken.Guest Room | The SmithocracyTurns out the the Fateful Gold Round Mirror was the perfect touch.

Thanks to the wonder of iPhone, here is a panoramic.

IMG_0034Perfect for now. There is some more to do, but I am pleased with the progress thus far. Interesting side notes: The Print on the left was done by Dan’s Grandma who passed away recently. She was a very respected artist and Dan has many wonderful memories of her taking him to paint in a canyon by her house. The lamp on the right was made by Dan the Man himself. It was a Christmas present to yours truly. What a crafty guy. :-)

So there you go. The Guest Room is now open for business.

Hint, hint to far away friends. :-)

10 thoughts on “Guest Room Update

  1. so cute! i liked the purple i was hoping it was purple. wanna help me and alex get some ideas for our apartment? we are on the SLOW track. aka blank walls all over the place. need some tannie advice. his only rule is no unicorns (or glitter couch, womp womp). my only rule is no birds or chevrons or overly mature things.

Leave a Reply

