Goals, Not Resolutions.

Wow, I am really finding it hard to get back into the swing of things. Anyone else know what I am talking about? It is funny how easily our schedules can get so easily messed up. A few weeks with the kiddos at home and doing all sorts of things, and suddenly I can’t seem to get back on track with stuff I do consistently my entire life. Maybe that is why we need New Years Resolutions so badly! Something to help up focus and get back to how we should be. Recently I heard someone mention that they prefer making New Years Goals, rather then resolutions. This person said that when they make a resolution they feel as if they should already have mastered the resolution and just start doing it!

I hear that!

When I resolute to eat better, I feel as if the very next day I should be doing exactly that. Eat better NOW!  When I resolute to be kinder, I get mad when I am not kinder instantly. See what I mean? I don’t leave any room for mistake. I unrealistically expect myself to Just Do It! On the other hand, when you make a GOAL, it is something you know you have to work towards. Something you know you have not perfected, but would like to be better at. To me that difference makes a whole lot of sense!

With that in mind…

Here are a few of my New Years Goals.

  1. Blog at least once a week.
  2. Learn how to remain calm, even in stressful situations.
  3. Enjoy the moment. Stop looking towards the ending of things.
  4. Be a better wife.

Why those goals you ask? Well I will break it down…but later. That way I can keep my first goal and have something to write about! ;-)

Anyone else out there feel that way about Resolutions vs. Goals? If so, I challenge you to make your resolutions into goals! Work towards something rather then deciding you should already be doing it.

Good luck for 2013!

One thought on “Goals, Not Resolutions.

Leave a Reply

