Christmas Tour 2012

Hello Friends!

A Merry Christmas and Happy New Years and Happy Holidays to you all. In order to live Good Days it is time to continue on with things that make me happy. And something that makes me happy is Christmas! I love decorating for Christmas. I always feel like it makes my house feel more homey. It seems to bring Warmth and Coziness each December. Of course my inner Monica (friends reference!) requires that I take everything down the SECOND Christmas is over. But up to that point, I enjoy it. ;-)

This is the second Christmas in our home, but the first I was able to decorate for. We moved in December 15th last year and so it was rather minimal and stark First Christmas. Which is saying a lot since I am already a Minimalist! This year is a different story and I was excited to decorate the new space. The first thing I discovered was what worked in my old house, did not necessarily work in this house. So a lot of Purging, Rearranging and Sewing occurred. Which, lucky for you, resulted in a tutorial, but that will come in another post. Lets begin the tour, shall we?

Here is the front door.

frontdoor

and a close up.

wreath

The red cranberry wreath came from my old house, and was purchased on clearance at H.E.B. (a local grocery store) of all places. However on my much larger front door it got lost, so I added some garland that was having trouble staying on the fireplace. This really helped beef the little cranberry guy up and a much better solution for the gravity prone garland.

Next up the dining room.

Christmas Dining Room - The SmithocracyChristmas Table - The SmithocracyRed Burlap and Pinecones -The SmithocracyI had some left over burlap from a project yet to be seen…

I love how red burlap and pine cones look together. It seems so cozy to me.

Now for the living room.

living Room - The SmithocracyChristmas Living Room -The SmithocracyI saved my grey chevron pillows from Halloween and added that fun tree pillow from Target on the couch. I loved how they went together, so it immediately inspired the rest of the room. I made a red slipcover for the bench by the fireplace, just like before. I made the tree skirt from left over material and then made the stockings by the fireplace. Here are some close ups.

Fireplace - The SmithocracyChevron, Red and White Stockings - The SmithocracyChevron and Red Tree Skirt - The SmithocracySo basically one thing led to another and I was soon consumed in a Sewing Frenzy.

I have survived the frenzy and declare myself the winner!

I really like the grey chevron and red together. Something about it just feels so right to me. I will soon share a tutorial for the tree skirt. Sorry no stocking tutorial. It was super last minute and I really winged it. I got so caught up in said frenzy, I forgot to take pictures! **hangs head in shame** I will tell you that I used our old stockings for a stencil then just cut and sew. It was super simple. Just tedious.

Thanks for taking a Christmas Tour with me! Do you have any favorite holiday things that make you feel Warm and Cozy?

P.S. Don’t forget to enter the Stella and Dot giveaway. Today is the last day! Winner will be announced tomorrow. Maybe it will be you!! :-)

3 thoughts on “Christmas Tour 2012

  1. Love the splash of chevron! I especially like the look of your porch with the minis and wreath garland combo. Did you get a piece for above the couch? I spy something new.

Leave a Reply

