Good Days.

My original intention was to sit down and write a fun post on some Christmas crafts I recently did. I find that I am not able. My heart is just not in it. I can’t seem to think of something frivolous and silly like that when we are still rocking from the tragic events on Friday.

Today I had to fight tears taking my kids to school. Walking home was the same thing. Nevertheless I sent them. Dan reminded me that we cannot avoid all the Good Things in life, just because of the possibility of Bad Things.

An important thing to remember.

My gut reaction is Home School. My gut reaction is Lock My Family Up Safely. However, if we hide and protect all the people who can influence the world for the positive, where does that leave the rest of us?

So today I prayed with my kids. I asked that they be protected. Asked that we could each see the good in each other. Asked that we can influence our community for good and kindness. I walked them to class. Gave them hugs and kisses and hoped for a Good Day. Because the truth is, there are more good days than bad. So I will live each good day to the fullest rather than fearing for the possible bad. And if a bad day comes, I will have memories full of Good Days.

May we each live for Good Days._MG_9129 _MG_9189 _MG_9498 _MG_9506 _MG_9572 _MG_9602

6 thoughts on “Good Days.

  1. My daughter is 13 years old she waits for the buss every day and to day I was not worried for her standing on her corner and more for her at school. I asked her if she wanted to stay home today she said no. I told her no matter where you are always be vigilant if something ever happens don’t panic or scream and think. We live in Wisconsin and there has been 2 mass murders here but we are not going to be afraid to go to the mall or the movies or school. We just have to be mindful of crazed maniacs. I am SO angry that this is the kind of crap we have to deal with. try to have a good day.. Thanks for the post. It’s nice to have another mom to talk to.

    • I am a natural worrier. So it is easy for me to want to live “carefully.” That is why I am balanced by Dan. He keeps me from getting to extreme. :-) I was happy for his reminder. It is unfortunate that this is what we have to deal with, with our children. But I am deciding to not let my fears hinder their happiness and growth. But yeah, definitely going to teach vigilance and how to react in crisis. Us mom’s have to stick together!

  2. how they have grown so much and what a huge blessing it has been to see these wonderful little boys grow up happy and safe; for we know in whom we trust…. prayer for protection is a breath a thought a hope away. living in peace and in faith is the best remedy for a sad and sick world in which we live in, we the people need to stick very close together :) beautifully written Tannie I miss your silliness don’t ever let the “world” rob us of our gifts and talents to share with one another as we mourn, pray and reach out to one another as a whole or by the one :)

Leave a Reply

