The Miracle of Life

Good Morning. I originally intended to start Monday off with some tutorials that I sneak peeked last week. But something occurred this last weekend that has changed what I originally intended. In fact it has changed a lot of things, most of all my perspective on what a blessing and miracle this life is.

This weekend I had the privilege of helping a friend in the birth of her baby. This came about because her husband was unfortunately out of town. Normally she delivers late and labors long. So they both felt that this was a good weekend for him to get a very important trip done. But life does not work that way. At 4am Saturday I received a call that she was in labor and 15 minutes later I was out the door and taking her to the hospital.

I won’t go into details, as the event does not just involve me. It broke her husbands heart that we wasn’t there. However I feel so grateful that I was able to take his place.

For a women, it was mind-blowing to be on the other end of the experience. I have had two children, and for me, it was great, but painful, so not my favorite thing. My husband has often told me how amazing it is on his end. I could not understand what he meant, because I was the one suffering. I get it now.

To watch someone I love be so strong, and so beautiful and in so much pain at once.

To see the joy on the mothers face when the baby makes its first sound.

To watch life occur right before your eyes.

The feeling is literally indescribable.

One thing that I never knew, probably because of pain and other drugs, was how spiritual the whole experience is. You could literally feel the love of God filling that room. Sending one of his children here. You cannot help but to cry and hug and kiss with all around you. I left that hospital so pumped up, I felt like I could run a marathon.

Any words I type, any words I say, and thoughts I have, all seem inadequate to explain that beautiful wonderful and even holy experience. I am so thankful that I had that once in a lifetime chance. I am so grateful to experience it as a women who has gone through what was witnessed. To feel the empathy towards her on a real and connecting way. To witness that miracle of life. What a beautiful plan our Heavenly Father has created for us.

If you have experienced this, man or women, please feel free to share in the comments. I would love to know if you can find better words than I in explaining this amazing event that humans go through.

Incredible.

5 thoughts on “The Miracle of Life

  1. Amen! I was in the delivery room assisting my sister when she had my nephew and it was, and I’m sure will always be, one of the greatest experiences of my life! You hit the nail on the head, that it is such a spiritual experience being on the other end. It was incredible. Truly awesome…emphasizing the ‘awe’ part of that word. So neat that you got to have that experience with your friend.

Leave a Reply

