I Saw Miles and Miles of Tile…

Oh I love that song! “All the stars up in the sky…doop da do!” But that is not what we are talking about today. Today we are talking about tile floors and how to keep them clean. I do seem to have Miles and Miles of Tile in my house.

Which is great to not have to fuss too much over. I love that when I am out gardening and I have to run into the house (with muddy shoes) for something, I don’t have to army crawl my way across carpet, to get to the “safe zone.” I can just shrug, and walk in, and know that I can clean it easily a bit later.

However cleaning this much tile can be a chore. One annoying thing about tile, is that if you don’t mop it just right, you see all the streaks. I hate that. So after some experimenting, this is the best method that I have found that works for me. Now I am not claiming that I made this up. I am sure someone, somewhere does this as well. This is just my favorite method. So now I am sharing it with those of you who haven’t discovered it for yourselves yet.

So lets get started!

First you need to start with a clean swept floor. It is silly to mop without sweeping first. So here are the perfect tools for people with Miles and Miles of Tile like me!

Yep, I use a Giant Janitors dust mop. That is the absolute best method to clean a huge floor area. The smaller broom is for sweeping up the pile and dumping it in the garbage. Or for quick spot clean ups. Otherwise, put on your Custodial Pants and use the large dust mop. You will thank me.

Now if I am feeling extra OCD and Monica-esque, I will get the hand vac out and vacuum up all around the corners, crevices and other nooks and crannys.

Now that your floor is dirt and dust free, lets get mopping!

Here are our tools.

You need a…

• Bucket. I prefer this one from target, because it has wheels.

• Vinegar.

• Essential Oil in your favorite flavor. I choose Grapefruit. Yum.

• A mop, of course. I like the sponge mop, no particular reason, just because. You can find them most places that sell mops.

1. Fill the bucket up with 1 or 2 gallons of HOT water. Not mildly warm, but steamy hot. This lets the water evaporate quickly from the floor.

2. While it is filling, pour about 1/2 cup to 1 cup of vinegar into the water. This depends on how much water you are using. The vinegar is a natural disinfectant and helps things be shiny without streaks.

3. Then, again while the bucket is filling, put about 5 or more drops of your essential oil in the water. I do it until I smell it. Which is usually around 5 to 7 drops. Yum yum, grapefruit. You can also do tea tree oil, or lemon, or whatever you like. Orange is nice as well.

4. Then start mopping! Now I am not going to tell you how to mop. Seriously, if you don’t know how by now, then call your mother.

So there it is! Mopping Smithocracy style. Now you can take it to the next level and steam mop after you are done regular mopping. (Yes, I am that insane at times.) But I save that for my really deep cleaning days, or when I want people to think I am Donna Reed.

So if you try it let me know! Or share your own methods of cleaning your Miles and Miles of Tile. Or, if you have been to my house, and can bare witness to my clean floors, leave a comment saying so!

Happy Mopping!

6 thoughts on “I Saw Miles and Miles of Tile…

  1. The moping cleans the tile but how do you get the white grout clean without getting a brush, tilex, rags and your hands and knees? The dirty water build up settles in the lines and your floor cleaning process does not leave the white grout white. HELP!

    • hmmm. I have not had that issue with my light grout. Perhaps because I steam mop it afterwards? But I don’t do that every time. In my previous house I would use a toothbrush and JR Watkins all purpose cleaner. It worked really well and fast to clean troublesome grout. Sorry that I don’t have a better answer for you. If I do end up needing to do something about it, you can be sure I will post about it. Have you tried sealing the grout? I know the builder told us to do that, however, we have not yet, and feel guilty about it.

    • I actually have a steam mop. I do love it! However it gets streaky when my floors are too muddy. Do to the cloth getting dirty. So this method works great on those extra dirty floor days. Then I follow up with my steam mop to go that extra mile. It is insane I know, but I love me some shiny tile.

Leave a Reply

