Welcome to my home

Well here it is, the big reveal! Dun, dun duuuuun. Actually it is not that dramatic, but it is exciting! Please keep in mind a few things. We are working from scratch here people! This is a very blank canvas right now, so bear with me. There is a lot of white walls and not much art either. Also, before everyone posts and tells me, I know my curtains are too short. I know they don’t touch the ground and I am working on it (today in fact, but that is a hint for next weeks post.)  This house is a LOT taller then my old house, so the curtains are falling a little short…get it…short. haha. Anywho, we still have to cover our windows, regardless of length. So we put up what we could and are replacing as we go. I also know that some of my light bulbs are out, so don’t feel free to point that out either. It’s on the list people! and the list is ten miles long!  Now for the tour…

Welcome!

You are standing in the front door. To the right is a hall to my office, then past that, which you can see are the stairs. On the left is a hall that takes you to the laundry room and the garage. Straight ahead takes you to the dining, living room and kitchen. Here is what the entry looks like from a different angle.

Nothing too interesting to see there. In the future we can look for a sideboard of some sort on that wall, and some large art. Next we will go to the right (Imagine you are still standing in the door) and visit my office.

You can see there is a powder bath (very boring right now, but not for long!) at the end, and on the right is my office. It is still “in progress.” So not too much to be excited about.

Now to the laundry room.

Yep, it’s a laundry room. But it’s a laundry room I LOVE! All because of that window. I always wanted a laundry room with natural light. So I am happy. :-)

Next, on to the Dining room we go.

curse you short curtains! Imagine long elegant curtains, there, that is better.

Anyway I am really happy with how this space turned out (except the curtains.) I love that I can display my favorite serving ware and my old table doesn’t look half bad. We will eventually change the chairs and get rid of the bench. But it works for now. If you turn to the left you enter the living room.

I wish I could show this space all as one. It is much nicer in real life. It is FAR from complete, but it has a good base. I am on the look out for a twin to my orange chair, and we need a nice cream shaggy rug, curtains are happening today, and we need some nick nacky stuff.

Now complete your turn to the left and head to the kitchen.

Hello my love…

I love my kitchen so much! It is so shiny and big and clean. I actually started to enjoy cooking! We still need some stools and a kitchen table. We will also be adding a backsplash later on. But here are some details that I love.

I love the white granite I chose. It is a lot like marble. Yum. That cooktop is pretty fantastic as well.

On the island I went for a black artisan granite. It has a soap stone like texture. And a large apron sink. Which I adore! And I never use the word adore, so this is serious people.

The rest of the kitchen obviously still needs some love, but we will go down that little hall on the left and visit my bedroom. That door you see is a hall closet, by the way, not the door to my bedroom.

A little sparse. And hard to photograph. So I don’t think it is translating well. But imagine crazy high ceilings and lots of open space. Nice and airy. We will be working on a head board and getting some paint on the wall. We probably won’t add much more in the furniture department. We are minimalistic in our style, so like the openness. The two open doors lead into the master bathroom. Another incredibly hard space to photograph.

It is a really great space, but very hard to show in a picture. But I like the separate sinks and I love the HUGE soaker tub, which you can’t see, and the large shower. I also love the sweats I’m wearing as reflected in the mirror. I obviously dressed up for this picture. ;-)

Now to head upstairs to the rest of the house.

Here is the game room. This has been a great place for my kids to just play and have fun. As evidenced by the little piece of train track that snuck in my photo. The art piece on the left is waiting to be hung. The frame was bent while in storage so we have to build a new one. Boo. So it has been placed on pause for now. To the left is the Media Room or Dan’s Space of Manly Manliness and Feats of Strength and Prowess.

VERY much a work in progress, so not much to show. Also it appears one of the couch cushions is upside down. Oops.

Last but not least is the guest room.

This is going to be where you all stay when you come visit me. :-) But it is not finished. For now, there is a bed and pillows and your own bath. So that’s is good enough!

So that completes the tour of our new home! I hope you enjoyed it and I am excited to share all of my upcoming projects with you as we compete all the rooms and spaces.

“Um Tannie”

“Yes?”

“Don’t your children have rooms”

“Yes, and a bathroom”

“Aren’t you going to show them?”

“No.”

And here is why.They were so messy I refused to photograph them. You would see a bed on the floor and toys everywhere. So no, that is not happening here in perfect blogdom. When we finally get their rooms to a place where I feel it is a “good start.” I will show them, but now they are a negative. They are not a neutral base for jumping off of, they are not a blank canvas. They are messy boy places of sleeping. Not for long though!

Anyway let me know what you think and I will see you all next week with my first real project for this new home!

Go The Smithocracy!

8 thoughts on “Welcome to my home

  1. Your house is becoming a home! Love the lines and clean space, the contrast and the fun that awaits us eager viewers!! So fun to follow and see the catapiller become her butterfly!!! ha ha ha!! I just had to add the cheesy analogy.. You’re doing beautiful work.

  2. Your blogs are so fun to read…hahaha! I love that your personality completely comes across. Your new home is beautiful! I’m looking forward to future posts for sure.

  3. Ms. Tannie! Love the house. I didn’t know you were such a good decorator! All of it looks so artsy. Please come to my house and do what you see fit. Love! Can’t wait to visit and stay in the “Flannigan Suite.”

Leave a Reply

