DIY 101

The avid reader may have noticed I promised some DIY projects and it is about time to come through on that promise.  “But Tannie,” you may ask, “how can you possibly do a DIY project when you are so obviously without a home?”  Well good reader, that is an excellent question.  Which is why this post does not actually have a DIY project in it.

See I tricked you, but only a little bit.  Let me explain.

When we finally move in I have all types of wonderful projects planned. And I fully intend on sharing those projects.  Some of those projects will include, but are not limited to; tiling, building furniture, landscaping, painting, wall art, etc.  All types of fabulous things to get your hands dirty with.  However I cannot do those things now.  Well I could, but I think my mom would object to me experimenting on her house.  So the plan is to do some smaller more craft like projects. Just to get the ball rolling.  Now those who know me best, know that I do not exactly, how do you say…ahem, LOVE crafting. However I do appreciate a good project here and there.  So just in this weird time of my life I will do some craft style DIY projects.  Then, once we are in the house we will bring out the big guns.  I feel there are enough “craft” blogs out there, that I really don’t need to try to fit that niche.

So what could I possibly have planned for our first project?  Well I will tell you…

…next week.  ;-)

But here is a clue.  Lets play “What Is It,” shall we?

scrap woodAbove are some scrap pieces of wood I picked up from our house.

What could I possibly have seen in these sad little discards?

Comment and share your theories with me and next week, on the same Bat Channel, same Bat Time, I will reveal the final outcome.  Hoping of course it ends up looking like what is in my head!

I look forward to hearing your speculation!

P.S.  Are you terrified of missing anything Smithocratic?  Is something happening and you don’t know about it?  Never fear, the solution is clear!  Just click like on the right and you can be notified in facebook everytime something new happens with The Smithocracy. “Not good enough” you say? Well then, take a look at the bottom of the page and click “follow.” You will soon be notified via email of each new adventure.  Take comfort in the knowledge that another post will never pass you by!

4 thoughts on “DIY 101

  1. My guess is that you will make them into directional posts for outside your house, you know, “house” this way, “garage” that way.

Leave a Reply

